ICCBA Presidency attend Solemn Undertaking Ceremony for New ICC Judges

On 9 March 2018, the President of the ICCBA, Mr. Karim Khan QC, Vice-President for Defence, Chief Charles Taku and the Vice-President for Victims, Mr. Jens Dieckmann attended the Solemn Undertaking Ceremony for the six newly elected judges of the ICC who will take up office on 11 March 2018.

The ceremony was presided over by the outgoing President of the ICC, Judge Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi and each of the new judges swore an oath in front of the President of the Assembly of States Parties, Mr. O-Gon Kwon.

Each of the judges declared the following oath: "I solemnly undertake that I will perform my duties and exercise my powers as a judge of the International Criminal Court honourably, faithfully, impartially and conscientiously, and that I will respect the confidentiality of investigations and prosecutions and the secrecy of deliberations".

The six new judges are:

  • Judges Luz del Carmen Ibañez Carranza (Peru)

  • Solomy Balungi Bossa (Uganda)

  • Tomoko Akane (Japan)

  • Reine Alapini-Gansou (Benin)

  • Kimberly Prost (Canada)

  • Rosario Salvatore Aitala (Italy)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Contact us...
Oude Waalsdorperweg 10
2597 AK
The Hague
The Netherlands
Follow us...
  • Twitter Clean
Join us...